Web of Science is a citation database, but can be used for topic search as well.
The records provided contains bibliographic information including links to full text when there is a subscription.
Every record located in Web of Science includes the used literature as well as times cited info connected to the record.
Web of Science in short
Type: An online subscription-based scientific citation indexing service maintained by Thomson Reuters that provides a comprehensive citation search
Subject: Optics and Photonics, imaging, nanophotonics, optical engineering, proceeding, remote sensing
Content: Indexes approximately 12.000 scientific journals, as well as several conference proceedings, patents as well as books and book chapters.
What's In Web of Science?
The Web of Science subscription provide access to several databases. DTU Library subscribe to the following:
- Web of Science - core collection contains scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, art and humanities.
Covering literature from 1900 to present.
- Science Citation Index - (literature from 1900-present)
- Social Sciences Citation Index - (literature from 1956-present)
- Arts & Humanities Citation index - (literature from 1975-present)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index/Science - (literature from 1990-present)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index/Social Science and Humanities - (literature from 1990-present)
- BIOSIS Citation Index - Life sciences and biomedical research. From 1926 to present.
- Derwent Innovations Index - value-added patent information. From 1963 to present.
- MEDLINE - from the US National Library of Medicine - life sciences. This is the same database as PubMed. This Web of Knowledge interface lets you Analyzing results or set up a Citation Alert. An All Databases search, by including Medline, ensures that you are coverng biomedical information that might not be in the other databases. PubMed offers other options; both have their uses.
- KCI - Korean Journal Database. From 1980 to present.
- SciELO Citation Index. Covers literature from countries like Spain, Portugal, South America and South Africa. From 1997 to present.
- Journal Citation Reports - contains the Journal metrics, including Impact Factor. It is not for searching for topics. But you can search for approximately 12.000 journal titles and discover their JIF within their respective subject category.
- Essential Science Indicators - covers the high impact articles and research trends based on citations from Web of Science.
Web of Science and Citation Analysis
Citation analysis with Web of Science
Web of Science uses the Journal Impact Factor as their metrics for measuring research/publication impact. Therefore, you can use Web of Science to look for citations to papers, as well as to look for H-Index on authors amongst other things:
- View h-index for specific authors by searching for the author
- Assess trends in search results with the “Citation Reports”
- Analyze an author’s publishing output with “Citation Reportsr”
- Gain insight into journal performance using “Journal Information” link - and the journal impact metrics from Journal Citation Report appears.
The research area must be taken into consideration when performing a citation analysis. The majority of the Web of Science records consists of journal articles published in English, and if it is common practice amongst researchers within a specific research area to publish articles in non-English speaking journals, or if the majority of the research in a specific discipline is published in books or formats poorly covered by Web of Science, then the citation analysis might be inaccurate.
See more in the specific guide on Citation Analysis