Bibliographical information is provided for all documents (mostly including abstracts).
If a given document is covered by DTU’s licenses, a full-text version (PDF) will be provided via a DTU Findit link
Scopus in short
Type: Abstract and citation database
Subject: Science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities
Content: Scientific journals, articles-in-press, books, book chapters, trade publications, conference proceedings, patents
What's in Scopus?
Scopus is a multidisciplinary database which, in addition to bibliographic information, includes reference lists from the indexed publications, thereby allowing users to carry out citation searches.
Scopus covers more than 50 million records:
- 20,800 journal titles
- 50,000 books
- 400 book series
- 6.4 million conference papers
- 25 million patents
How to search?
Scopus content is integrated with and searchable in DTU Findit.
Searching directly in Scopus allows you to:
- Search by document, author, affiliation or use the “Advanced Search” feature
- Refine results by source type, year, language, author, affiliation and more
- Export search results to Mendeley
- Find related documents by shared references, authors and/or keywords
- Identify and match an organization with its research output using “Affiliation Identifier”
- Identify collaborators or subject experts with “Author Identifier”
Citation analysis with Scopus
Scopus uses the SCImago Journal & Country Rank (SJR) as their metrics for measuring research impact. Thus, you can use Scopus for citation analysis. Amongst other things you can:
- View h-index for specific authors
- Assess trends in search results with “Analyze Results”
- Analyze an author’s publishing output with “Author Evaluator”
- Gain insight into journal performance using “Journal Analyzer” and journal impact metrics such as SCImago Journal Rank and Source Normalized Impact per Paper.
Please note that cited references in Scopus only go back to 1996, and citation counts for publications published before 1996 will therefore be inaccurate. However, the size of Scopus means that a citation analysis for articles published before 1996 may well result in a higher citation count than a similar count in e.g. Web of Science - even if the latter includes reference lists from all publications in the database.
The research area must be taken into consideration when performing a citation analysis. The majority of the Scopus records consists of journal articles published in English, and if it is common practice amongst researchers within a specific research area to publish articles in non-English speaking journals, or if the majority of the research is published in books or formats poorly covered by Scopus, a Scopus citation analysis will be inaccurate.
Additional features in Scopus – news feeds and alerts
When using your DTU login, you have access to the search features and analytical tools in Scopus. If you create a Scopus account, however, you will be able to set up various news feeds and alerts:
- Email alerts
- Search alerts
- Document citation alerts
- Author citation alerts
Scopus offers a variety of quick guides and tutorials explaining the many search features and analytical tools, alto how to generate your H-Graph (H-Index)