Skip to main content
site header image
site header image

SciFinder: About SciFinder

Access

First time user? You must have a personal account before you can use SciFinder. Create your account here

Go to SciFinder:

Tips

Use prepositions in keyword searches, i.e. describe your topic like a sentence. It affects how your search is run as SciFinder breaks your search into concepts.

The Categorize feature is very useful to analyze search results by index terms and substances

SciFinder in short

Type: Interface for searching literature, patents, chemical substances and reactions

Subject: Chemistry, biochemistry, materials science, chemical engineering and related sciences

Content: All literature types and patents, commercially available products and regulated substances

What's in SciFinder?

SciFinder is a collection of 6 databases from Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) plus Medline.

Chemical Abstracts (CAplus)

  • References (citations and abstracts) to journal articles, patents, conference papers, technical reports, books, dissertations and meeting abstracts
  • Substances and reactions indexed with links to CAS Registry and CASREACT
  • Currently indexes 10,000+ journals (1,500 journals indexed cover-to-cover) and patents from 63 patent authorities
  • 1907 to present with some pre-1907 content: ACS (1879-1906) and RSC (1841-1906) journals, Chemisches Zentralblatt 1896-1906, and 38,000 US patents

CAS Registry

  • Records for more than 89 million organic and inorganic substances and 65 million DNA and protein sequences. Substance information includes: synonyms, moleculat formulas, structure diagrams, experimental & calculated property data, and predicted & experimental spectra
  • Complete coverage from 1957 to date (additional substances going back to early 1900's)
  • The records link to other SciFinder databases: CAplus, CASREACT, CHEMCATS and CHEMLIST

CASREACT

  • More than 60 million single and multi-step reactions and 14 million synthetic preparations
  • Indexed from journal articles, patents and evaluated sources, from 1840 to date
  • Reactions link to CAplus and CAS Registry

CHEMCATS

  • Catalog of commercially available chemicals from more than 870 commercial chemical suppliers

CHEMLIST

  • Database of substances that are regulated by state, federal and international agencies, including EINICS (European Inventory of Existing Commercial Chemical Substances) and TSCA (Toxic Substances Control Act Inventory) from 1980 to date

MARPAT

  • More than 1 million Markush structures from patents covered by CAS from 1988 to date (structures from INPI records from 1961-1987)

MEDLINE

  • References to articles in more than 4,000 biomedical and related health sciences journals, including chemistry and biochemistry, from 1946 to date
  • Medline is searched in CAplus when doing topic searches. You can remove any duplicate Medline references