Dictionaries obviously provide definitions and/or translations of words and phrases and so enhance the understanding of a given text but they may also be useful tools for collecting search terms for an information search.
In addition to the encyclopedias, dictionaries and reference works available via Findit, DTU Library provides access to a number of online dictionaries, including Ordbogen.com and Oxford English Dictionary.
Moreover, there are plenty of free dictionaries, glossaries and reference works available online. They wary in quality and coverage but may be well worth looking into.
Please note that descriptions of dictionaries and encyclopedias of specific subjects (e.g. civil engineering or transport) may be found in the subject guide for that particular research area.
And remember that DTU uses Oxford English as the University’s language standard at the corporate level. You may access the DTU English Style Guide via Portalen
You can use Ordbogen.com offline if you install Ordbogsprogrammet3. In the attached guide you find the instructions for installation on both PC / Windows and Mac - in Danish. To install, you must either be on the DTU network or log in with WAYF, i.e. DTU login.
- Cambridge Dictionaries Online
A series of bilingual dictionaries that translate from English into a wide variety of languages including e.g. Catalan, Chinese, French, German, Japanese, Polish, Portuguese, Spanish, Turkish. The collection also includes several general monolingual dictionaries of contemporary English (both British and American)
- Collins Dictionaries
A series of online dictionaries including a general dictionary of contemporary English, a thesaurus, a leaner’s dictionary of English as well as a number of bilingual dictionaries covering French, German, Italian and Spanish.
Monolingual (English) dictionary which covers definitions, usage, pronunciation, and synonyms.
- Gyldendals Røde Ordbøger
A series of bilingual dictionaries published by Gyldendal. DTU’s subscription covers the following languages: English (SUPER PRO), German (JURIDISK PRO), French (PRO) and Spanish (PRO). The subscription gives access to Gyldendal’s “classical” dictionaries. In addition, the English SUPER PRO subscription provides access to a dictionary of technical terms that covers a variety of fields (e.g. trade, industry, IT, medicine, chemistry, finance and law). The subscription to the German JURIDISK PRO gives access to a legal dictionary.
- InterActive Terminology for Europe
Keyword database that translates terms between the 12 official EU languages. Especially useful when translating titles, academic degrees, and legal and political terms.
Bilingual (Danish/English) dictionary published and maintained by the University of Copenhagen. Especially useful for the translation of academic titles and degrees.
A series of dictionaries including a general dictionary of contemporary English, a thesaurus, a Spanish/English dictionary as well as a medical dictionary.
Ordbogen.com lets you access several online dictionaries covering languages such as Danish, English, Spanish, Swedish as well as technical and chemical dictionaries. In addition, it provides access to general dictionaries of the Danish and the English language. DTU’s subscription includes access to the following:
• Den danske netordbog (general dictionary of the Danish language including the history of individual word, grammatical rules, synonyms, and antonyms )
• English/Danish (bilingual dictionary)
• French/Danish (bilingual dictionary)
• Kemisk ordbog (Danish chemistry dictionary, provides names of chemical substances and classes including empirical and molecular formulas)
• Retskrivningsordbogen (spelling dictionary)
• Politikens Store Engelskordbog (general dictionary of the English language)
• Politikens synonymordbog (Danish thesaurus)
You can use Ordbogen.com offline too - see the textbox to the left!
- Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
Widely considered to be the established authority on the English language, Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is a historical dictionary that depicts how words and meanings have changed over the years. It includes present-day definitions as well as etymological descriptions of individual words and phrases.
- Oxford Dictionaries
The free version includes a general dictionary of contemporary English, a thesaurus, a grammar guide and a pronunciation dictionary
Interface that gives you access to online versions of various Danish dictionaries as well as useful tips and explanations of spelling and grammar rules. Sproget.dk includes the following dictionaries/language resources:
• Retskrivningsordbogen (official Danish spelling dictionary including spelling and grammatical rules)
• Den Danske Ordbog (Dictionary of Contemporary Danish)
• Ordbog over det danske sprog (historical dictionary of Danish)
• Schultz Dansk Synonymordbog (Danish thesaurus)
• Nye ord i dansk (“new words in Danish” - a dictionary of words that have entered into the Danish language “recently” – i.e. since 1955)
• KorpusDK (linguistic research tool)
• Various newsletters and editorials that deal with the Danish language
- Svensk-danske ordbøger på nettet
Comprehensive collection of links to Swedish/Danish dictionaries
English thesaurus which includes both synonyms, antonyms and related terms