This is the "PubMed" page of the "PubMed and MEDLINE" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

PubMed and MEDLINE  

Last Updated: Jul 7, 2016 URL: http://libguides.dtu.dk/content.php?pid=486451 Print Guide Email Alerts

PubMed Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Access

 

Access to Europe PubMed

 

Format

Bibliographical information is provided for all documents.

If a given document is covered by DTU’s licenses, a full-text version (PDF) will be provided via a DTU Findit link.

Guides and training

 

PubMED in short

Type: Bibliographical database

Subject: Biomedical and health information

Content: Conference publications, articles from journals and magazines, books and ebooks, early access articles, standards, factual information, dataset, full text documents, open access articles. Records date back to the 1950s and the database is updated daily.

 

What is PubMED?

PubMED is a search interface that provides access to over 24 million bibliographical records within the areas of biomedicine and health information, including medicine, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, bioengineering, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical test and research, and  more.

PubMED is made available by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) and is part of a comprehensive retrieval system called Entrez which covers a number of information resources within the biomedical field. PubMED provides access to and links to these other NCBI molecular biology resources, yet the majority of the records in PubMED originate from MEDLINE.

MEDLINE is published by the National Library of Medicine and provides information on health issues, including clinical care, public health, health policy development and related educational issues.

In other words, the scope of PubMED is wider than that of MEDLINE since PubMed – in addition to MEDLINE content – facilitates access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources. Citations may also include links to full-text content from PubMed Central, publisher web sites and lot of extra material in relation to the publications, e.g. the raw data when available.

DTU Library also provides access to MEDLINE via the Web of Science interface. The bibliographic content available in PubMed and WoS is very much the same, but if you choose the WoS interface, you exclude the extra information available from NCBI - like searching for Genome, Nucleotides, Proteins and datasets. Searching with MeSH terms can be done in both systems - but if you use MeSH search in PubMed, your results will only come from the subordinate database Medline.

DTU Library provides full text access for articles behind subscription paywall - just use your DTU login.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip