This is the "About the ASFA Databases" page of the "ASFA Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ASFA Databases  

Last Updated: Jul 7, 2016 URL: http://libguides.dtu.dk/content.php?pid=480057 Print Guide Email Alerts
About the ASFA Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Access

To access the ASFA Databases go to:

http://search.proquest.com.proxy.findit.dtu.dk/asfa/?accountid=27080

The ASFA Databases are a part of other proquest collections, but DTU Library do only provide access to search in the ASFA bases.

Full-text linking is available for DTIC licensed materials.

 

Facts

Subject Coverage - Major areas of coverage include:
  • aquaculture
  • aquatic organisms
  • aquatic pollution
  • brackish water environments
  • conservation
  • environmental quality
  • fisheries
  • freshwater environments
  • limnology
  • marine biotechnology
  • marine environments
  • meteorology
  • oceanography
  • policy and legislation
  • wildlife management

Dates of Coverage
1971 - current. Note: There are several hundred records published before 1971.

Update Frequency
Monthly, with approximately 3,700 new records added

 

Guides and training

ASFA Database Guide

More info about the ASFA Databases - e.g. indexing and field codes

 

ASFA in short

Type: Database

Subject: Aquatic science

Content: Serial publications, books, reports, conference proceedings, translations and limited distribution literature

 

What is the ASFA Databases?

"ASFA" is an acronym for Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts.

ASFA is a component of the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Information System (ASFIS), formed by four United Nations agency sponsors of ASFA and a network of international and national partners.

The ASFA series is the premier abstracting and indexing database in aquatic science and the primary reference in the field of aquatic resources.

More than 5,000 Serial publications, books, reports, conference proceedings, translations and limited distribution literature are selected for abstracting and indexing in ASFA. Input to ASFA is provided by a growing international network of information centers.

Although primarily English language, publications represent over 40 other languages from around the world. Also, ASFA contains lots of abstracts from international publications.

ASFA is one big database, that is a collection of the following five subfile databases

ASFA 1: Biological Sciences and Living Resources

ASFA 1 provides extensive coverage of basic and applied research on aquatic organisms. All aspects of marine, freshwater, and brackish water organisms and environments are examined, including information on biology and ecology of aquatic organisms, exploitation of living resources, and related legal, policy, and socioeconomic issues.

ASFA 2: Ocean Technology,Policy and Non-Living Resources

ASFA 2 is the source that puts professionals in touch with effective management solutions, alerts them to problems, and updates them on new legislation that affects management practices. Coverage spans the wide-ranging fields of oceanography: physical, descriptive, dynamical, chemical, geological, and biological aspects are extensively examined, as well as limnology, ocean engineering, and specific resources.

ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality

ASFA 3 is the only abstracts journal devoted exclusively to research and policy on the contamination of oceans, seas, lakes, rivers, and estuaries.

ASFA Aquaculture Abstracts

Focusing on studies related to improving and augmenting aquatic yields, the journal provides comprehensive information on cultivating marine, freshwater, and brackishwater species. All types of source documents are surveyed to provide international perspectives on the science, practice, management, and economics of aquaculture. References from related disciplines - such as water pollution, ecology, diseases, nutrition, oceanography, and limnology - are also scanned for relevant material directly applicable to aquacultural situations.

ASFA Marine Biotechnology Abstracts

In marine biotechnology, molecular biology and molecular genetics are applied specifically to marine and aquatic organisms. The field holds great promise - in increased production of seafood, in the development of new therapeutic drugs, in the engineering of microbes that digest and remove environmental and marine pollutants, and in launching myriad ventures having immense economic benefit.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip